Vaccination Policy

All visitors ages 12 and older must show proof of full vaccination against COVID-19. Visitors ages 5–11 must show proof of one dose. Read more >

The Presidents' War: Six American Presidents and the Civil War That Divided Them
Collaborative Programs
Non-Fiction at the Bryant Park Reading Room
Chris DeRose
Wed, August 13th, 2014 | 7:00 pm


In collaboration with the New-York Historical Society, the Bryant Park Reading Room presents a series of free lectures to stimulate your mind on popular topics including biography, Civil War history, politics, and more.

Abraham Lincoln assumed the presidency in 1861 without the support of his five living predecessors, an unprecedented challenge that was only amplified amid the mounting tensions between the northern and southern states. Author Chris DeRose examines the profound impact Presidents Martin Van Buren, John Tyler, Milliard Fillmore, Franklin Pierce, and James Buchanan had on Lincoln and the Civil War.


Chris DeRose, the author of The Presidents' War: Six American Presidents and the Civil War That Divided Them, is an adjunct professor of law at Arizona Summit Law School and a political strategist.


This program will be held at the Reading Room in Bryant Park. The Reading Room is located on the 42nd Street side of the park between 5th and 6th Avenues. Look for the burgundy and white umbrellas.
Rain Venue: In case of summer showers, there will be an on-site tent. In case of severe weather, please check for the indoor location or contact New-York Historical’s Department of Public Programs at 212-485-9205.


Free Admission. No advance reservation is required. First come, first served.


This program is produced in partnership with the Bryant Park Corporation.

Creative: Tronvig Group