Fragment of the mosaic sign from the Tiffany Studios Building
Favrile glass, stone, concrete
Overall: 21 1/2 x 75 x 2 3/4 in. (54.6 x 190.5 x 7 cm)
Section of mosaic sign composed of multi-colored glass and stone mosaic on concrete backing. The fragment includes two interlocking guilloches at center and the first two digits of the street number 355.
In 1905, Tiffany Studios moved their workshops and showroom from Fourth Avenue and 25th Street to larger quarters in the former Knickerbocker Athletic Club, located at the southeast corner of Madison Avenue and 45th Street. The firm undertook extensive remodeling both inside and out. At the center of the façade above four large glass display windows, Tiffany added a bowed sign of stone and Favrile glass reading “355 • TIFFANY STUDIOS • 347,” punctuated with decorative roundels. The pieces of glass that form the mosaic may have been selected and cut by Tiffany Studios’ Women’s Glasscutting Department, which was responsible for creating many of the firm’s iconic lamps.
Gift of American Decorative Art 1900 Foundation in honor of Nina Gray
Due to ongoing research, information about this object is subject to change.