To help support the city’s efforts to contain the spread of COVID-19, New-York Historical is temporarily closed to the public until it is safe to reopen. More details on our Visit page.


Discover dynamic education programs and curriculum resources about the history of our city, state, and nation.

Institute for Constitutional History

Education Mission

The New-York Historical Society Education Division provides dynamic programming and curriculum resources for students and teachers in New York and beyond. Historical study sparks curiosity and creativity, promotes cultural understanding, and fosters an empowered citizenry to strengthen our democracy. Our staff of passionate professionals draws on our world-renowned collections to engage learners of all ages in the study of our collective past.


Attention educators! Subscribe to receive New-York Historical updates:

* indicates required


Education programs are made possible through endowments established by
National Endowment for the Humanities
The Hearst Foundations
The Peter Jay Sharp Foundation

Public funds are provided by
Institute of Museum and Library Services
New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council
Manhattan Borough President Gale A. Brewer
New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature

Education programs at New-York Historical receive generous support from
Gillian V. and Robert Steel
Pine Tree Foundation of New York
Robert and Mercedes Eichholz Foundation
Stavros Niarchos Foundation
Altman Foundation
The Hearst Foundation, Inc.
Sherri and Darren Cohen
Deutsche Bank
Onassis Foundation USA
Rice Family Foundation
Susan Waterfall
Robie and Scott Spector
Keith Haring Foundation
Con Edison
Alan Shuch and Leslie Himmel
Richard Reiss
Barker Welfare Foundation
Consulate General of the Netherlands
Dan W. Lufkin
Susan and Robert E. Klein
The Michael Tuch Foundation
Max and Victoria Dreyfus Foundation
GWG Foundation
Placer Partners and Ray Lent, Managing Partner
Henry Nias Foundation
an anonymous donor


Help us present groundbreaking exhibitions and develop educational programs about our nation's history for more than 200,000 schoolchildren annually.


Staff and Advisors


Maeva Marcus, Director

Maeva Marcus is a leading scholar in the field of constitutional studies. She received a Ph.D. in History with distinction from Columbia University. Her dissertation, Truman and the Steel Seizure Case, was published by Columbia University Press (1977) and remains in print from Duke University Press. As editor of The Documentary History of the Supreme Court of the United States, 17891800, Dr. Marcus published eight volumes along with many related articles on legal history. She is a Research Professor of Law at George Washington University Law School. From 1983 to 1987, she was Visiting Professor of Law at the Georgetown University Law Center. From 2007–2009, she was president of the American Society for Legal History.


Robert J. Cottrol, Faculty Liaison

Robert J. Cottrol is Professor of Law, of History, and of Sociology, and Harold Paul Green Research Professor of Law at the George Washington University. He received his B.A. and Ph.D. from Yale University and his J.D. from Georgetown University Law Center. He is the author of The Afro-Yankees: Providence’s Black Community in the Antebellum Era, editor of Gun Control and the Constitution: Sources and Explorations on the Second Amendment, and co-author of Brown v. Board of Education: Caste, Culture and the Constitution (winner of the 2003 Langum Project for Historical Literature Prize). Professor Cottrol's articles on constitutional topics have appeared in many leading journals.


Arthur E. Wilmarth, Jr., Faculty Liaison

Arthur E. Wilmarth, Jr. is Professor of Law at the George Washington University Law School. He received his B.A. degree in History from Yale University and his J.D. degree from Harvard University.  Most of Professor Wilmarth’s published works deal with historical, legal and economic issues related to the regulation of financial institutions. However, he has also published two major law review articles in the George Washington Law Review and the American Criminal Law Review addressing constitutional questions that arose during the drafting and ratification of the Constitution and the early national period.



Richard Ekman

Council of Independent Colleges

David C. Frederick
Kellogg, Huber, Hansen, Todd, Evans & Figel PLLC

J. Roderick Heller III
Carnton Capital Associates

Stanley N. Katz
Princeton University

Gene C. Schaerr
Winston & Strawn LLP

Benno C. Schmidt
New York Historical Society

Ira S. Shapiro
Greenberg Traurig LLP

Seth Waxman



Floyd Abrams
Yale University

Akhil Reed Amar
Yale University

David Armitage
Harvard University

Richard Baker
U.S. Senate Historian, Emeritus

Thomas Bender
New York University

Barbara Black
Columbia University

David Blight
Yale University

Hon. José A. Cabranes
U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit

Gerhard Casper
Stanford University

Ruth Bader Ginsburg
Associate Justice, Supreme Court of the United States

Hendrik Hartog
Princeton University

Elena Kagan
Associate Justice, Supreme Court of the United States

Laura Kalman
University of California at Santa Barbara

Stanley Katz
Princeton University

Nicholas Lemann
Columbia University

Hon. Michael McConnell
Stanford Law School

Charles W. McCurdy
University of Virginia

Barbara Oberg
Princeton University

James Oakes
CUNY Graduate Center

Richard Pious
Barnard College

Edward A. Purcell, Jr.
New York Law School

Jack Rakove
Stanford University

Benno C. Schmidt
New York Historical Society

William Wiecek
Syracuse University

John Fabian Witt
Columbia University

Creative: Tronvig Group